Date published 13 August 2019
Last modified 20 September 2019

Appointment of commissioners, senior executive officers and senior officers 

Under the Crime and Corruption Act 2001, the Commission comprises:

  • a full-time chairperson responsible to the Commission for performing the commission’s functions and exercising the Commission’s powers
  • a part-time deputy chairperson
  • three part-time ordinary commissioners with the qualifications, skill or standing to assist the commission perform its functions.


Commissioners are appointed by the Governor-in-Council for a term of up to five years. They may be reappointed but may not hold office for more than 10 years in total. The minister is required to consult with the parliamentary committee prior to the appointment or reappointment of any of the commissioners.

Commissioners are paid the remuneration and allowances decided by the Governor-in-Council.

Qualifications of chairperson

Under the terms of the Crime and Corruption Act, the chairperson (and the deputy chairperson) must be a legal practitioner who has served as, or is qualified for appointment as, a judge of the Supreme Court of any state, the High Court or the Federal Court.

Senior executive officers and senior officers

A “senior officer” is an officer whose principal duties relate directly to the performance of the CCC's crime, corruption, research or intelligence functions or the giving of legal advice to the Commission. It does not include a senior officer whose duties support the CCC’s functions, or a human resource, information technology or finance manager.

Under the Crime and Corruption Act, senior executive officers and senior officers must not hold office in the CCC for more than 10 years (this may be extended to 15 years under certain circumstances).

More information about the appointment of commissioners and senior officers can be found in sections 223-49 of the Crime and Corruption Act.

To provide feedback on this page's content, please contact us.
Brand logo as background