Date published 13 August 2019
Last modified 08 April 2024
Last reviewed 08 April 2024

The Commission is responsible for providing strategic leadership and direction for the performance of the CCC’s functions and the exercise of its powers by the Chairperson, CEO and other staff.

Mr Bruce Barbour
Mr Bruce Barbour 

Bruce Barbour holds a Bachelor of Laws from Sydney University and was admitted as a Legal Practitioner to the Supreme Court of NSW in 1995.

Mr Barbour commenced as CCC Chairperson on 2 July 2022 for a three-year term.

Prior to the appointment as Chairperson, Mr Barbour was a part-time Ordinary Commissioner of the CCC from May 2021 to January 2022, and was appointed the Acting Chairperson from 28 January 2022 to 1 July 2022. 

Mr Barbour has extensive experience in administrative law, investigations and management. He was the NSW Ombudsman for 15 years from 2000 to 2015. Mr Barbour has also been a Senior Member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, Member of the NSW Casino Control Authority and acted as Commonwealth Merit Protection Commissioner and Queensland Integrity Commissioner.  

Mr Barbour’s board experience includes being Chair of the NSW Public Interest Disclosures Steering Committee, Convenor of the NSW Child Death Advisory Committee and Vice-President of the International Ombudsman Institute. 

Email: [email protected] 

Ms Kathryn McMillan KC
Ms Kathryn McMillan KC

Kathryn McMillan KC was called to the Bar in 1987 and was appointed Silk in 2006.

Relevantly, she has been an ethics Counsellor for the Bar for many years and has been appointed to the Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal as an assessor in legal disciplinary matters. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at the TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland until late 2020 and lectured in a number of areas including ethics.

Kathryn practices in personal injuries (particularly cases concerning complex medical evidence and historic sexual abuse claims), public law, disciplinary matters, discrimination proceedings together with a long-standing practice in family law and child protection proceedings. Kathryn was recognised consistently in Doyle’s Guide as a "leading" Queensland barrister both in the Family Law and Divorce category and the Parenting and Children’s Matters category. She was “Lawyers Weekly” female barrister of the year in 2019.

She has appeared in five Royal Commissions/Commissions of Inquiry: the Public Hospitals Commission of Inquiry (as Counsel for the Medical Board), the Queensland Child Protection Commission of Inquiry (as Senior Counsel Assisting), the Barrett Adolescent Centre Commission of Inquiry (as lead Counsel for a health authority), the Royal Commission into Institutional Sex Abuse (as Queen’s Counsel for the State of Queensland) and the Youth Detention Review as Commissioner. She is currently briefed in two Royal Commissions – into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation into People with Disability and Defence And Veteran Suicide.

Kathryn has held a number of Ministerial appointments, including on the Child Death Case Review Panel and until recently the Premier’s Domestic & Family Violence Prevention Council. She has previously served on the Anti-Discrimination Tribunal, the Psychologists Tribunal and the Mental Health Review Tribunal.

Kathryn was appointed on 16 December 2022 for a five-year term.

Email: [email protected]

Ms Helen Darch
Ms Helen Darch OAM

Helen Darch is a management consultant with extensive experience in strategy, facilitation, stakeholder engagement and change management.

She has consulted to the government, health, education and not-for-profit sectors for many years, and now focuses on executive mentoring and Board work.

Helen has over 15 years’ experience as a non-executive director on large not-for-profit and government boards and is currently a Director on the Multicap Board, Metro South Hospital and Health Service Board and is the Metro South nominee on the PA Research Foundation Board. 

In the 2022 Australia Day Honours, Helen received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for her services to community health.

Helen was appointed on 13 May 2021 for a two-year term. Helen was reappointed as an Ordinary Commissioner for five years commencing on 14 May 2023. 

Email: [email protected] 

Mr Peter Dowling AM
Mr Peter Dowling AM

Peter Dowling is an accountant (FCPA and former Ernst Young Partner). He has over 25 years’ experience as a non-executive company director and independent audit and risk committee member.

He has sat on government and private sector boards in the finance, insurance, health, education, electricity and mining sectors among others. His audit and risk committee roles cover local, state and federal government and private sector entities. 

Peter is also the Queensland Honorary Consul for Botswana and is the Dean of the Queensland Consular Corps.

Peter was awarded a Centenary of Federation Medal in 2001 and was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2007 for services to accountancy and the community. He has a Lifetime Achievement Award from CPA Australia and was made a Distinguished Alumni of Canberra University in 2013.

Peter’s three-year appointment commenced on 4 November 2022.

Email: [email protected]

Ms Simone Webbe - profile photo
Ms Simone Webbe

Simone Webbe holds a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Queensland. She was admitted as a Barrister of the Supreme Court of Queensland in 1993 and of the High Court of Australia in 1996.

Simone Webbe is a consultant with significant experience providing high level advice to local, state and federal governments including in governance, accountability, anti-corruption and integrity reforms. Simone also has extensive public sector experience in constitutional and public law.

Simone is a former Deputy Director-General in the Queensland Department of the Premier and Cabinet, and has served on a range of boards and national bodies such as the National Counter-Terrorism Committee. She has held several senior appointments including Clerk of the Executive Council of Queensland.

Simone is a Faculty member of the Australian and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG) as an Expert Contributor in governance, managing risk and change, and public sector ethics and integrity.

Simone was appointed for a five-year term commencing on 25 August 2023.

Email: [email protected]

To provide feedback on this page's content, please contact us.
Brand logo as background